Cuckoo

Buy the book


Cuckoo by Julia CrouchThe original domestic noir psychological thriller: a dark, deliciously unsettling drama in the vein of I LET YOU GO, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.

Rose has it all – the gorgeous children, the husband, the beautiful home. But then her best friend Polly comes to stay.

Very soon, Rose’s cosy world starts to fall apart at the seams – her baby falls dangerously ill, her husband is distracted – is Polly behind it all?

It appears that once you invite Polly into your home, it’s very difficult to get her out again…


‘A brilliant debut novel… a riveting and spooky story that keeps your eyes locked on the page, and leaves you feeling shaken and out of sorts.’
Heat Magazine, March 1st, 2011

‘A gripping and thrilling debut – you really don’t want it to end.’
The Sun, March 4th, 2011

‘What elevates this compelling novel… is the characters. Flawed and repellent but also endearing and recognisable, they make the shocking climax hauntingly believable.’
Stylist, March 1st, 2011

‘A Single White Female for the Mumsnet generation, Julia Crouch’s debut novel deals with the devastating effects of a dysfunctional friendship.’
Bella Magazine, 8th March, 2011